With all the hype in the news this week over Bruce Jenner, it got me thinking about how people in general, but especially Christians, don’t stand up for what they believe in. And if they do, they’re condemning and criticizing people and using scripture to do so. It’s no wonder churches aren’t seeing the attendance they used to, or why more and more people are turning away from religion in general. While I don’t agree with what Bruce did, I would never sit here and pretend to be holier than thou and say he’ll burn in hell for his decision. I’m not God and I don’t know what His decision will be on judgment day. For me to say hurtful things about someone else would not only show my lack of maturity, but also contradicts my beliefs. You can disagree with someone’s choices, and perhaps show scripture of why or how it’s wrong, but to sit and act like our sins are less than is the epitome of hypocrisy.

I think certain things going on in the world today have been going on for years, but with the constant flood of news and easy access to it, thanks to social media, we’re hearing about it at an alarming rate. Quite frankly, I’m tired of it. The news is beginning to report things that, in my opinion, aren’t news-worthy. Maybe they feel “hip” reporting about Kylie Jenner’s lip injections or Miley Cyrus’s latest antics, but it makes me cringe. Celebrities have their own Instagrams, Facebooks, Twitters, etc., and don’t need every news channel reporting it. I feel inundated with the “latest in news” around the world and I couldn’t care less. I’d much rather hear about all the positive things going on and not what the most popular celebrity just ate for lunch. It’s like they’re grasping at anything to report, they’ve gone way overboard in my opinion.

Recently, all I’ve heard is people saying, “Only God can judge me”, which is a fairly inaccurate statement. Everyone judges, in and of itself isn’t a bad thing. It’s the actions thereafter that make it negative, which is what everyone is up in arms about. As a Christian it’s my duty to judge others in a way that helps me decide if it’s in my best interest to be friends with someone or not. I can love people without being influenced by their behavior, and that’s sometimes the best option. I have learned in my life as a people-pleaser that not everyone is meant to stay in my life just because our paths cross. But I have to judge the situation and that person and decide what’s best for me. I’m just so tired of the clichéd phrase, “don’t judge, you’re not God”. I think people need to take a step back and reexamine their faith, what scripture actually says, and learn to use it properly. That being said, not every battle is ours to fight. It’s important to realize that taking to social media to argue with people we don’t know isn’t helping the situation. You’ll never win anyone over using condemnation or a holier than thou attitude. I’m not saying to be passive either and never take a stand. I just feel we need to get back to the basics these days. Showing compassion, mercy, grace, love, and empathy are the quickest way to share your faith without saying a word. And what’s the worst that could happen? At least that person wouldn’t walk away and say, “And that’s why I don’t believe in God”.

We desperately need more people willing to defend their beliefs and be prepared for a debate. Differences are what make us unique and we really need to stop fighting over every little thing or being offended at someone else’s viewpoint. At our core, we’re all the same. No one is better than another regardless of race, gender, religion or job title. Humility goes a long way and should be practiced on a daily basis. If we could learn to appreciate the things that make us different, it would drastically change the world. Perhaps it’s the fact that I’ve been taught from an early age to treat people how I want to be treated, but it’s the way I live my life. It doesn’t always get reciprocated and that’s okay. It doesn’t change my attitude or turn me away from attempting to be a positive influence in the lives of those around me. I’m not the first to pick a fight or throw my beliefs in anyone’s face, but after all the banter I’ve seen on Facebook this week, I couldn’t stay silent. It just astounds me that America is behaving like my 2 and 3 year old children.

Take it for what it’s worth, this is just my standpoint on what’s going on all over social media. Let’s be adults, Christians if you are one. And if you’re not, that’s okay too. Kindness is a universal language and costs nothing to share. Stand up for what you believe in because as the saying goes, you’ve got to stand for something or you’ll fall for anything.

Leave a Reply

