Today was a momentous day for me, and one I’ll not soon forget. About a month ago, I was asked if I’d be willing to speak in front of a group of women about a time in my life where I was trying so hard to do something on my own, only to realize I couldn’t, and that I needed God to intervene on my behalf. I kind of laughed when I thought about it because I couldn’t pinpoint just one incident. My whole life has been me trying and trying and trying to please everyone. But in a way I thought they wanted me to be, not really ever knowing who I am. The inspiration for this story is through the Colbie Caillat song, Try. I do like the song, but based on its lyrics I’d always thought of my own teenage daughter and her daily struggle to fit in and hope people like her; I never really gave much thought to how it applied in my own life. However, there is one part of the song where she says, “do you like you”? And it made me stop and think about it. Did I like me? Did I like who I was and the kind of influence I was allowing everyone else to have on me?  To be honest, no, I didn’t. I have spent my entire life trying to fit in anywhere I could. I wanted people to like me, accept me, be an inspiration if at all possible. It wasn’t until last year that I even began whole heartedly searching to discover who I truly am as a daughter of the king. I absolutely love my role as a wife and mother, nothing gives me greater joy. But I know who God has called me to be is far greater than just the roles I live out in my every day life, and today was a huge step toward what I feel He’s calling me to be. I have confidence I am on the path to the greatness He has called me to.

Leave a Reply

